Most versatile residency choice?

I'm a new grad who's been applying to jobs in my (metro) area for 3 months so far with little success.

For over a year now I've been on and off about the idea of pursuing residency.  On one hand I do desire the formal, rigorous training PA residency provides, think it's valuable for one's career, and am willing to sacrifice time and money, even relocation, for it.  But on the other hand I have interest in multiple fields (EM, hospital medicine, critical care, some surgical fields) and have been reluctant to commit to any one of them.  What I am sure of is that I like high acuity fields, and that I'm interested in staying a generalist at least for the beginning of my career, rather than jumping into a niche specialty off the bat.

Which, if any, of these residencies may provide the most broad and versatile experience that could be applied to other fields?

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1

In my opinion that has is substantiated only by my logic, EM residency is by far the most versatile. It is the longest of the residencies at 18 months at many institutions so providing the highest level of experience, it provides the greatest variety of experiences with off service rotations, greatest variety of cases from lowest to highest acuity. It's applicable to any field as you learn about emergent problems in every area of medicine, so no matter what specialty you're in it will help you recognize an emergency. It helps you know who does and does not need to come in to the hospital from clinic. If you're a hospitalist, which I do from part time, it will help you speak to EM in terms they understand about how someone doesn't need admission or if they need higher level care than the floor can provide. If you're in the ICU, you are much better resuscitationist with EM experience since you are well versed in the undifferentiated crashing patient. 

• Like 1