Graduated with 2.8 gpa but hoping to be a PA

Hey guys,

As the title mentions, due to my lack of discipline, motivation and focus during my years getting my Bachelor of Science, I graduated with a  low gpa of 2.8 a year and half ago. Since then I worked at a clinical lab for a year before realizing I want to work with people and follow my dream of working in the hospital helping people get better that I had before starting college. Therefore I decided to go back to my local community college last year. Since then I have academically excelled.

- I currently have a 3.9 GPA in the last 3 quarters.

• A&P I : A
  • A&P II: A-
  • Microbiology: A
  • General Biology: A
  • Lifespan Psychology: A
  • Nutrition: A
  • Humanities: A
  • Statistics: A-

I currently work as an EVS at a hospital and plan on getting my CNA certification this month and get direct patient care experience.

My biggest fear is that all these courses won't count since they are being taken at a community college instead of the university where I got my bachelors at. I am also afraid my extremely low undergraduate gpa will make it impossible to get into any program. Hopefully that is not the case.

I am taking all these courses because my community college offers a nursing program that I plan on applying to during the next cycle but that won't be until a year from now. But since my main goal is to become a PA or an NP eventually, if its possible I would like to go into PA school before having to get a BSN degree. Since I also have a year of waiting, I am doing everything I can to make my application as attractive as possible and plan on continually doing well in all the prerequisite courses. Any advice is appreciated and if anyone has been in a similar position or know someone which ended in a success story, I would love to hear from you.

5 hours ago, samdup1994 said:

Hey guys,