Special Olympics Volunteering

Guest UVAPAC

I just had a quick question:

I have been volunteering (medical) at the special olympics for the past several years.  I was discussing it with a physician I work with and he asked "who is supervising you while working there?"  I said, "No one."  The volunteers consist of myself and other PA-C, and many Paramedics/EMT's.

My question is:  Are we able to do this?  If there is an adverse outcome, am I practicing outside of my scope?

99% is giving out ice-packs, applying band-aids, etc.  Question of fracture/dislocation, sutures, or any more serious medical event go out by ambulance.

35 minutes ago, sas5814 said:

Check you state laws. Some make exceptions for volunteer work. Some don't.  had the same issue when I volunteered for  Tough Mudders

I am just curious... in whatever state you reside was it "ok" to volunteer medically at a tough mudder?

I did first aid volunteering for the Red Cross and we covered tons of Special Olympics events, however not sure if this is the same since I was through the Red Cross. Basically we had a first aid class at the Red Cross when you joined and we were covered up to the highest level of that training as a first aid worker. So I wasn't working as a PA, even though I am a PA, if that makes sense. If I gave actual medical advice or performed any procedures beyond simple first aid, I'd be overstepping my bounds and be liable for anything that happened but as long as I kept everything to first aid I was covered. 

24 minutes ago, sas5814 said:

Texas. Yes. The medical tent has an ER physician on site and the Tough Mudder people provide liability coverage for volunteers

Texas Occupational Code:

Sec. 204.2045. VOLUNTEER CARE AND SERVICES PERFORMED DURING DISASTER. (a) The supervision and delegation requirements of this chapter and Subtitle B do not apply to medical tasks performed by a physician assistant: