AMA Finished first year of med school (PA to DO)

I know the topic of going back to med school pops up fairly regularly so I'm happy to answer any questions someone might have while I'm waiting to start rotations for the summer.  I'm in LECOM's APAP program and was a PA in cardiothoracic and vascular surgery for about 2 years with some experience moonlighting in the ER.  I'll try to answer as many questions as possible. 

Nope, did not work at all the first year.  There are three pathways at LECOM: Lecture-Discussion Pathway (LDP), Problem based learning (PBL), and Dependent study pathway (DSP).  I'm in the LDP group so pretty much in class from 8AM to 5PM everyday.  Could have worked over breaks per diem but didn't think it was worthwhile for me.

I retained a lot from PA school since I graduated only 2 years before starting med school.  It made things a lot easier compared to people who just went straight into med school from undergrad.  Like the first week, they are already showing everyone CT scans and MRI's and most people were like, "I have no clue what I'm looking at." Lol

I enjoy the operating room and doing procedures but not so much rounding, going to the office, and filling out disability paperwork so I figured Anesthesia would be the best fit for me.  It seems like a good chunk of the PA's in this program end up in Anesthesia if they have a choice.  Back up plans would be Radiology, Surgery, or IM with a fellowship in something.  All the PA's here seem to match into the specialty of their choice.