Help? Covering SNF patients

Hi everyone,

I've been a practicing PA-C in Florida for nearly 4 years now. I worked for 3 years in Peds ICU and am now 6 months in at a private practice cardiology office (no non-compete). Just today I was approached by my best friend's father who is the medical director at a local SNF. He's looking for a PA or NP to help him with rounds occasionally and cover for him while he's out of town...starting next week. I'm meeting with him tomorrow to talk over some details but I need to come into the conversation prepared. He's worked with an NP before but she transitioned to a hospitalist position with a non-compete clause. And he's made it very clear that I can say no and he'll still think the world of me (like I said...bestie's dad, he's a good guy). He's got a system set up that will get by while he's gone, just not ideal.

I must confess that so far, I have had a lot of the "background work" taken care of for me and I've only ever had to worry about the medicine and charting accordingly. In the ICU, I was a hospital employee and did zero billing. In my current practice we have a team of billers and all I have to do is provide ICD-10 codes and check-off the level of visit. I've always known exactly who my supervising physicians were and have never had them be further away than across the street, in the other hospital building. 

He was asking whether I could see patients independently and bill for it. I replied yes because my understanding is that a supervising physician need only be "readily available" if needed. His partner will be in town and available by phone and in person if need be. This other MD will be covering true emergencies because they'll be admitted under his practice's service but needs someone else (me?) to round on the patients that have non-emergent, stay-at-the-SNF but still-need-to-be-seen illnesses arise.