PA School

The school you choose can actually go a long way towards helping you get your first job, particularly in the communities around the school. If it has a good/great rep in the area then you will have an advantage when applying for that first job out of school when you have exactly ZERO real world experience beyond your rotations. The opposite is true as well. If the school has a rep for putting out poor, unprepared PA's then you will struggle with finding that first job. I can't tell you how many times on my rotations I had someone tell me that they will never hire new grads from certain programs because of how unprepared they are.

That being said, after you have your first job then your experience takes precedence, the school you graduated from has less value to it. Same with GPA. My current job (first one out of school) never asked about GPA during the interview. They knew that the program I graduated from produces high quality PA's.

So, yes. The school you attend can potentially influence your ability to get a job right out of school. GPA probably not so much.

So, yes. The school you attend can potentially influence your ability to get a job right out of school. GPA probably not so much.

Disagree on the last point. I received several interviews because of my academic performance. I used my academic performance as leverage for negotiations for my first contract as well, which worked in my favor. It was something that was commented on positively in every interview I attended. Not to brag, but for an FYI so you know where I am coming from, I graduated with a 4.0 from undergrad and will graduated with a 4.0 and first in my class from PA school. I think it opened several doors for me in the job hunting process and ultimately, my starting contract.

after you get your 1st job your board scores will help you keep it.