Memory techniques / Mental frameworks for medical knowledge

Just wondering if anyone out there knows of (or uses) specific techniques or mental frameworks for putting medical knowledge into long-term memory (as opposed to just rote memorization).

For example, one of my professors (a really awesome, extremely knowledgeable EM PA) apparently uses a mental system that involves visualizing filing cabinets for different areas/topics in medicine, then pulling out the file folder that relates to the information she's trying to recall, and then looking at the papers in that file folder.

I've also read about techniques such as "memory palaces"/Roman rooms/journeys where you mentally picture items in places that you know well, but this seems more useful for lists of information, not so much for medical knowledge.

I guess at this point (2nd semester of PA school), I'm just starting to learn about medicine and am looking for some sort of overall memory framework or "mental organization" method to use when studying so that I can better retrieve the information later when I need it -- and therefore one day become a competent PA.

If you have any suggestions or can point me to another resource, I'm all ears! Thanks.