Hey everybody, I'm in a bad spot and I honestly don't know what to do.  I am a PA student attending a 24-month program in the Northeast.  I am at the end of my first semester of my didactic year and I know I'm already going on academic probation (GPA <3.0).  It's not for lack of effort, when I started the program last year I had a family member come close to death and took an LOA instead of failing/probation/retaking courses.  I don't regret that decision but while on my LOA  I developed some severe health problems and 3 week before school started I had a major surgery that led to several complications.  As a result of constantly being sick and trying to resolve the issues, my grades have suffered terribly.  As it stands I will probably be passing all of my classes except Anatomy (this is a dissection lab and the PA students have their own cadavers as we are not attached to a medical school).  I have struggled in this class and If i don't pass it (get a C-) I will be allowed to retake the course next fall (we don't have any other way/time to make up the classes as we use cohort training,and it will extend my time yet another 5 months.  I honestly don't know if it's even worth it.  I'll be spending 5 months, thousands of dollars in extra tuition, creating a terrible situation with my lease, and it just seems to add so many variables.  I served as an Army medic, that's how I came to love the idea of becoming a PA after working with some of the best in the world (From every branch of service!).  Please, anybody just chime in.  As much as I'd be disappointed to leave the program I know there are opportunities in accelerated BSN/NP programs or even doing a cheap RN at my local community college.  I'm 28 and thank goodness I don't have a family to support but I just don't know what to do.