Nursing before PA school?

Hello everyone.  Let me jump in by first presenting the question, should I go to nursing school before PA school?  I'm a veteran utilizing my GI bill and I just got accepted to a nursing program.  However, my end goal is to become a physicians assistant.  I initially thought that it would be wise do get a bachelors in nursing and then apply to PA school.  I figured that it would give me good clinical experience,  look good on my application to PA school, and guarentee me a job in case I don't get accepted right away.  However, I recently looked at my degree audit and I'm starting to have second thoughts.  In one more semester, I'll have an associates degree.  If I didnt go into nursing, I could finish my bachelores in 2 more years and apply to PA school.  On the other hand, if I start the nursing program, in two years I'll be a nurse, but I'll only have an associates.  That means it would take an additional two years to get my bachelores, and finally apply to PA school. Is the clinical experience, and job security worth the extra two years of school?  Should I just switch my major to Biology or something, and hope to get accepted into PA school on the first round?  Should I consider NP?  So far I've been able to maintain a 4.0 GPA.  I'm not sure if that will factor into any advice you have for me, but I would really appreciate any feedback.  Thank you for your time.

This is almost the same situation I found myself in when looking into applying to PA school.

At the time, I already had my associate of science and was wanting to apply to rad tech programs which was also an associate degree. But after thinking about it, I ended up just continuing for two more years and finishing my bachelors in microbiology and then went on to PA school. Basically in the same amount of time I got a BS versus two associate degrees.