3rd year podiatry student looking at PA

I'm currently a 3rd year Podiatry student at DMU. I've just entered clinics and I've finally decided that this is not the field for me. I have thought about it since beginning of first year but I thought to give myself until clinics and surgery training. My passion for podiatry is very close to dying out. I have had many hurdles placed before me in Podiatry and I am close to dropping the program. I don't have the same desire as I did prior to entering.

Anyways, I'm looking at a school in Reno (UNR) which requires no GRE but has a requirement of 2,000 hours of paid patient contact. This is troublesome! Or is it? I most likely will not be able to do whatever is necessary to drop Podiatry and fill out applications for PA school. So within a year, is it possible to get a paid job with patient contact and complete the 2,000 hours? Other requirements I think I have met already. My GPA was a 3.2c and 3.4s but this was almost 5 years ago now. 

How about financial aid? I am a 3rd year Pod student so will I be able to get loans for a new professional career?

Thanks for any advice you may have!

First off, I am sorry to hear of you having lost your passion for podiatry. I think it is possible for you to go to PA school, but I also think that any school you apply to would be wary of you having the same epiphany with becoming a PA as you've had with podiatry. It's a commitment, and something that you have to be sure of. They will definitely ask you about this switch, guaranteed.

As far as the PCE: it doesn't appeal to them for you to just hit the 2000 hour mark as it just seems like you're doing it to knock off a checkbox, and not because it's something you genuinely care for. They're going to want see you're committed and passionate about the healthcare field.

I'm not sure how the grades will reflect, being five years old. Also, the debt situation.