Phlebotomy or MA for PCE?

I have been trying for quite some time now to obtain a position to get some patient care experience hours, and I currently have two opportunities and do not know which to take. I just received an offer to work full time as a phlebotomist at a Level 1 trauma hospital in the Denver area, which would be an amazing opportunity for me as a phlebotomist (I worked as a phleb one summer in a very small hospital so this would be a big change.) I have also interviewed with a medical weight loss center looking for a Medical Assistant. Although I am not certified as a medical assistant they seem to be okay with training me should I get the job (I think I was the only applicant). The bad thing is they just started up a few months ago and are only getting about 5 patients a day maximum. I'm not sure which job to take? As far as PA school, MA would look better on an application, but as far as experience, working in a hospital I think would be much better for me to actually learn something, especially since I'd just be sitting around all day at the Medical weight loss clinic. The pay is better with the MA position though and hours are nicer. Any advice?

I would opt for being a MA (yes, I am being biased haha).

The scope of a MA includes phlebotomy. A phlebotomist is limited to only drawing blood.

There is no such thing as just "sitting" around as a MA. There is always something to do.

• Use free time to get to know the clinic ie; where supplies are located, what can be updated.
  • Organize supply closets, med closets, and waste closets.
  • Know where certain infograms are located (if none is available, create some, it will make your life easier). Especially when patient load increases.
  • I noticed one of my clinic's order of draw infogram was looking worn out so I used some time to recreate one and modify it a bit.