DEA license

Hello,

I have an issue that I need an opinion on.  I am a new graduate physician assistant as of August 6th and am currently certified.  However, I live in Kentucky and am finding that the state license process is very long and the hiring process is even longer.  The hospital says the credentialing process will take 3 months before I can get started and they need to find me a supervising physician and an alternate physician to sign off on me just for my state license.    

I decided to work locum tenems for the Indian Health Services but I need a state license (from anywhere).  I went through Utah and got my license in 1-2 days. Now I am applying for my DEA license and I have hit a speed bump.  It needs me to list an address in Utah.  I cannot list my Kentucky address as it will say I have no schedule authority there.  Any thoughts on what to do?   I just need my DEA so I can work in NM, NE, and SD areas for 2 weeks on/off until I start working here in Kentucky.  What do people from other states who have DEA licenses without schedule authority in their state do? 

• Administrator

Ask your contact at the IHS what to do about that if you need your DEA license for your IHS job.  If you don't, then just wait until you have a KY license.  Since DEA numbers are only good for one state at a time, you would only be able to prescribe in Utah, so it makes sense for you to need an address there.  Overall, I've found the DEA far more reasonable than most states' licensing (Washington state rocks, though) or credentialing.

• Administrator

Thanks for your response.  Unfortunately Kentucky does not allow prescribing of schedule drugs so I cannot get a DEA in Kentucky.  I will contact them tomorrow and see if there is an alternative