Why should I hire a Physician Assistant over a Nurse Practitioner

I am a solo physician in the state of Massachusetts and I am in the processing of hiring a mid-level provider. I am researching both professions and would like to know if I should hire a PA or an NP and would like to hear from current PAs (I will post on NP website also). Many MDs I have discussed this with have told me they prefer working with PAs. I would like to hear from the PA perspective.

Also, I would like to hear from current PAs working in a solo practice. I would like to know what is important to you regarding the physician/pa relationship. I would like to discuss pt care with the midlevel not just because I want to know how my pts are being cared for, but because I find it very helpful to discuss the care of patients, so that we can be on the same page. I would like my patients to feel confident that they will continue to be treated in the same manner...is this a reasonable expectation in working with a physician assistant?

I am a PA student so I will be brief. I know one thing many Physicians like about PA's is the fact that they are trained in the "Medical Model" as opposed to the "Nursing Model" that NP's are trained in. This helps PA's and Physicians stay on the same page (so i am told).

PA program accreditation involves representatives from quite a few Physician organizations, including the AMA, American Academy of Family Physicians, and the American College of Surgeons. So, much of what PAs are taught is influenced by Doctors. That's nothing to take lightly, in my opinion.

P.S. It's just Physician Assistant, no s on the end ;)