asking for first raise...tips and negotiation tactics please

Good morning everyone.
I have a scheduled meeting with my supervisor this coming Friday where I will be asking for my first raise.
Some background: I am a Physician Assistant in a hospital based orthopedic hospitalist group. I work for a large medical staffing company (not an independent contractor). I entered my fifth year with my company this past March. I have not received a raise, but have made bonus the last two years, which were the two years bonuses were available. My coworker is retiring this week and I will be taking the senior PA position in the group. I have been quite productive in my time with the company, and I feel that this, as well as becoming the senior PA should merit a raise.

For the meeting, I plan on bringing information such as revenue generated, consults performed, cases in which I first assisted, etc over the last three years.
I wanted to ask about negotiation tips from Bogleheads and how a negotiation should go. I have a number in mind, and if a raise is unable to be provided, I plan on asking for quarterly instead of annual bonuses, as well as some improvements to my benefits package.
Our first meeting is in person, but I doubt an answer would be provided at that time. How much small talk should I make, if any, before cutting to the chase? Should negotiations then take place via e-mail or should the occur over the phone after our first meeting?

Thanks

Mike

I don't really understand how you haven't received any raise for five years.  That just seems ridiculous...  I am still in school, but isn't it normal to basically request a raise on an annual basis if you are producing well?  Unless maybe your initial salary was much higher than average...