Can Low GPA Be Salvaged?

I recently graduated this past December from UC Berkeley with a 2.927 GPA overall, and 2.44 for just my science courses (I majored in Integrative Biology)

I don't plan to apply to PA school anytime soon, seeing that I lack HCE and want to take a break from the academic environment and work for a while. I'm planning to become a certified medical assistant and work as that to accumulate hours.

There are also some classes I didn't take while at UC Berkeley (such as biochem and genetics), and I was wondering if I take classes at community college, will that be taken into positive consideration by the time I'm ready to apply? If I get A's, will they be factored into my undergraduate GPA and boost my GPA?

Short answer: yes

Medium answer: Retake any class you got less than a B- in. It won't replace the old grade but CASPA averages the two. A C and A- averaged together is way better than a C.

Long answer: It may take a few years for you to have success. Once you retake classes you may need to consider a masters degree. If I was in your position I would find a local PA program that I planned to apply to, make an in-person appointment with the admissions director, and ask about a plan. Get to know this person. Send them holiday greeting cards. Get on their radar while simultaneously cranking out As and getting HCE.

Also, I strongly urge you to go EMT instead of medical assistant.

Everything MedicinePower said.

Curious. Why EMT instead of MA?

MA doesn't teach you much medicine and you don't really get to do much without a doc or PA there. EMT, however, is out in the field and providing medical interventions to sick and injured people. You learn a lot of medicine and practice medicine under a state certification and protocols of a medical director. As well there's a more natural progression of going from an EMT (or AEMT or paramedic) to PA, while MA/CNA is more geared for nursing.

Thank you everyone for answering!