What To Major In (Pre-PA)

Guest sunshine6627

Guest sunshine6627

I just started college this year after being away from school for several years post-high school, and I'm trying to decide what to major in. I was hoping I could get some advice here, at least for starters.

My options are as follows:

Biology

Nursing

Some social science like soc, psych, or linguistics

My initial thought was biology, but I'd have to take a bunch of really hard classes that are way beyond the prerequisites for PA programs (math beyond stats, higher level chem, etc.).

Nursing is a really hard major and it seems like kind of a round about way to get to PA. But, at least if I don't get accepted into PA school right after my senior year, which I'm assuming I won't, I'll be able to do my "direct patient care" year right away without wasting time on more school.

And, believe me, as a somewhat older student, I'm very concerned about spending unnecessary time before I go to grad school

The third option is to take a major that doesn't have so many required credits as bio or nursing. Then I could take whatever biology classes I want to, or maybe even get a minor in bio or microbio. Also this would probably free up more of my time and energy for health-related extracurriculars and volunteering.

I'm definitely going to ask my adviser and ask pa school admissions, but I thought I might ask here first.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Sunshine..I was a Biology major. However, my main concern is that you wrote

My initial thought was biology, but I'd have to take a bunch of really hard classes that are way beyond the prerequisites for PA programs (math beyond stats, higher level chem, etc.).