How long did it take you to find a job?

I'm a recent graduate, i passed my PANCE, did very well, as well as great grades in school, and while I wait for NYS to license me, I cant get a job interview to save my life! I'm definately more geared towards specialties, especially sports medicine and orthopedics, but thats what my background was prior to PA school. But i cant seem to find anything. Am I expecting too much right out of school, in hoping for the job that I want, in a specialty I love, or do I need to continue to have patience?

Feeling rejected in NYC...

First off I have heard NYC is a tough state to begin with in terms of finding PA jobs for new grads. Also I applied to almost 20 ERs before I found 1 that would interview me. You have to be persistent and keep looking. Do you have to stay in just NYC? You might want to try other areas. In my class it took anywhere from immediate job waiting upon graduation to up to 6 months later depending on the area and how persistent people were.

Expect one 10 years from now b/c of how the economy is going, no one is getting a job. Now everyone who recently graduated from college are sitting on their bums at home. And not only that, those already with jobs are having their salaries cut down and may be losing their jobs as well. My mom who makes an average of $80000 has lost all her benefits and may be making only $15000 a year shortly. And who knows, probably the entire US population will be homeless and on the streets in a few months if Obama doesn't get his freakin act right.