Current OHSU students..

Guest starvingstudent
I have recently been accepted and I would love to hear your views on the program and if it is everything you expected. Also I would like to know what flaws the program has?? Thanks so much for your time!!

John

After about a year of living in portland, your hair will slowly turn into moss and you will develop a woody body odor. haha.:)

I'm a first-year student and love it. It really is a great program, with fantastic faculty and amazing guest lecturers. Two things that really make OHSU stand out, to me, are the support system and family-like atmosphere, and the program's focus on turning out great PAs who will not only be great health care providers, but advocate for the PA profession and the improvement of health care into the future. OHSU is a world-class facility, which provides access to a lot of resources, experiences and professors that aren't available at most other schools. I also really like how all of the clinical (i.e. non-anatomy/physiology) exams are in the PANCE style- computerized, multiple choice, relevant and phrased like the board exam questions.

As far as "flaws," I would just warn you that it's a very challenging program with higher expectations than most- but not unbearable, and it's because the program wants to turn out world-class PAs.

Feel free to PM me with more specific Qs. Just give me a few days to reply- they're keeping us pretty busy here. :-)

Guest almumfor

I got the call on Friday and have also been accepted! I am eagerly awaiting the information in the mail. Who else has gotten in? I am a local girl and it would be fun to meet some people before school starts.

Guest starvingstudent

I am curious if the pa students at OHSU are able to utilize the "world-class" medical facilities during their entire clinical rotation... I have heard that students only do a couple of rotations on OHSU campus. Is this true?