How to handle personal questions during an interview?

Guest Swennerb

Guest Swennerb

I don't know if this happens alot to anyone else, but I feel like it happens alot to me and I don't know what to say anymore. I've been interviewing for jobs, and at some point during the interview, either the hiring manager or SP starts to inquire about my marital status, or family situation. they ask all other legitimate questions as well,... But it's like, I know they are not supposed to ask me these personal questions and it makes me very uncomfortable. I am single, and no kids but I don't think that's pertinent information. I want to be hired bc I'm a professional, and not be judged as anything else but that. I don't want to be discriminated against, and I don't know what to say to these interviewers bc it's like- no I don't have anything to hide but I also don't think it's really any of their business. Does anyone have some good advice how to avoid answering a question like that in a professional way with out sounding like a jerk?

• Administrator

I always wanted that to happen to me so I could use a line like...

"So, now that you've asked about a federally protected status without any connection to the job in question, would you prefer to offer me the job or a cash settlement in lieu of an EEOC lawsuit? I'm open to either option."

But it's actually never happened to me.

If you want to turn the discrimination bit on its head, consider buying yourself a wedding ring. Places that want "stability" in employees (read: they won't leave at the drop of a hat) will tend to bias in favor of married employees, and if they assume you're the kind of protected class they want to favaor, based on your current jewelry, then that's their own problem.

Guest Swennerb

Thanks, I appreciate the feed back. I really was not expecting this kind of treatment at my interviews, its been an eye opener.

• 2 weeks later...
Guest Swennerb