Interested in Becoming a PA

Hello all. I am interested in becoming a PA, and I’m trying to find out as much as I can early in the journey so that I know what I am getting into and so that I set myself down the best possible path.

My background: I am a US Army Aeromedical Evacuation Officer, or in simpler terms I am a Blackhawk pilot who specializes in the Medical Evacuation mission. As such I work closely with NREMT Flight Paramedics who are also Critical Care certified. I have been in the Army for 5 years and owe another three in my current assignment. I hold a BA in Telecommunications from a major university.

My (vague) plan: I intend to leave the military upon the end of my current tour and am currently planning to pursue becoming a PA. I have started taking the prerequisites that I will need to be considered for admittance to 5 major programs with Continuing Accreditation. At my current pace I will have my prerequisites completed less than one year after leaving the Army and will be able to begin seeking admission into a program.

My goal: My endstate is that I want to work in healthcare, providing hands on patient care in some capacity, a vague goal I know. I was originally drawn to the career of a PA after having the opportunity to work with several in the Army. With that said, I am admittedly ignorant of how different the role of a civilian PA may or may not be. The (perceived) flexibility of a PA appeals to me. Also, the formal education timeline fits into my life rather well. I will most likely be 30-35 upon graduation from a PA program, depending on if I finish my prerequisites prior to leaving the Army, attain the necessary work/volunteer hours, etc.

My questions:

- What area of concentration to work towards? I have only ever been exposed to trauma, based on my current job as a MEDEVAC pilot. As such, this was my first consideration. Upon further research, the options seem virtually limitless, and I am currently woefully ignorant.