Thinking of Switching from Pharm to PA

Hello everyone.  This is my first post but I've been looking around at all the threads and I wanted to pose a specific post to my issue.

Currently I'm in Pharmacy school and am about to enter into my 2nd year.  However, I'm a little older (39)  and in order to continue pharmacy school I would have to quit my job in an unrelated field and take on full loans to support myself.  After making all the calculations by the end of the 4 years I would be owing about 277k in student loans.  That is scaring the hell out of me along with the almost unending talk of saturation in the pharmacy field.  I know I do NOT want to work in retail and deal with customers.  One of the things that I liked most after my first year here was the hands on stuff, and learning how to take blood pressure, compounding, etc.  My initial intention was to work in a hospital but I just see that it is becoming really difficult to rely on that.  Initially as an undergrad I was deciding between PA and Pharmacy and went with pharmacy so now I'm looking back at PA because its only 2 years, less loans, and appears more interesting.

My grades aren't great and I struggled primarily due to a lack of time trying to work and go to school at the same time.  One primary thing I noticed is that my memory is not what it used to be.  I had a very hard time in the dynamics portion memorizing all the drugs, side effects, contraindications, etc.  From what I know they will only throw more information at me to memorize.  So naturally my confidence is a little shot that I can memorize and I definitely don't want to be a practicing pharmacist and do harm to someone because I forgot about a reaction to a drug.