Personal Statement Help

Hello everyone, 

I would really appreciate help with my personal statement. I am not a great at writing and would really like some insight and any help that you all can give me. My opening statement is not written well and I know that, it is not what I actually wanted to say but I was trying to go for something catchy and different. I would like to incorporate somewhere that I was not a good student at all the first 2 and a half years that I was a college student and I had no drive until I discovered my passion for the health care field. I wanted to describe exactly what happened and how I felt the first day of my internship at an emergency room. Try not to be too harsh.

"Throw some gloves on and come get in some compression," is what the Registered Nurses and Physicians said to me in the first 10 minutes of my orientation at the Emergency Room. It was a Monday afternoon and I was scheduled to be at the hospital for two hours. I had been experiencing anxiety because I was going to be in the Emergency Room and this was my first time being in a healthcare setting, it was especially intimidating. I was following Lyle, who is a RN and is in charge of the education department; he was giving me a tour around the different pods in the emergency room. When I had first met with him he informed me that he would not be able to protect me from what I could possibly see during my time at the ER. He was not lying when he said this to me. He then took me to the drop off/loading area where the ambulances enter.