Direct Pay Practice

I'm only an undergrad but I was thinking that this business model would work well for a PA owned practice. This FP on SDN has his patients pay him a monthly subscription and takes no insurance. The rates are affordable, $50 a month for an adult and $10 a month for a child for unlimited visits, free procedures, and house calls. 

http://forums.studentdoctor.net/threads/are-fp-residents-familiar-w-direct-primary-care.1047025/

The benefits of this model are that your patient panel can be significantly less than a traditional insurance based practice, he claims he sees around 5 patients a day, and that it keeps your overhead low extremely low. I dont think he has an office manager or a receptionist, just his MD partner and a nurse.

I figure a PA could even approach an existing practice with this offer. Hes generating about $360,000 a year from his patients, and after his overhead takes home 200-240k. Could you as a PA ask to be an IC in a doc's office space and pay him what you would spend on an office and just have the patients pay you directly?

Apparently theres a large market for this type of practice because under the ACA small buisnesses get a break for offering crappy insurance along with this type of membership. I read on KevinMD that an internist with a similar practice has been approached by multiple small companies looking to take advantage of this.

Perhaps I am naieve and am missing something here, but this seems doable as a PA with the correct collaboration agreement.

if it were this easy to make $200k I think everyone would be doing it

Fact is it is very hard to build this type of practice and typically in large cities only (skimming the top)

Problem with it is that the monthly fee is not health insurance, it is only your fee and therefor the patients still have a HUGE financial exposure.  Overhead is a constant.