What should my next step be?

I am 25, currently work as an ER-Tech for a local hospital for a year. I have been an EMT sense 2007. As far as college degrees I have an Associates degree in Fire Technology (un related unfortunately to where I want to be now). I am looking for advice as to what BA degree I should go for that PA programs would prefer. Every PA and current PA student I have talked to so far said that experience is a big thing, and that they say that I have the clinical experience part down, just need a 4 year degree. Any advice in what way to go from here?

• 1 month later...

Hello fellow EMT and ER-Tech! That is my background as well. As you continue gaining valuable direct patient care experience, you should work on a bachelor's degree (any) and the required pre-requisite courses that will give you a wide option of programs to apply to, which will greatly improve your likelihood of acceptance.

You can earn any bachelor's degree, but it will be faster and cheaper to earn a science related degree that involves such courses as biology, anatomy, physiology, chemistry, etc. That way you can tackle the pre-requisites as part of the degree. I got a Health Education degree with an emphasis in Emergency Medical Services which covered only some of the pre-requisite courses I needed. That meant that I had to do a lot of extra coursework outside of my degree. It would have saved me a lot of time and money to earn a biology degree, or some other type geared towards pre-meds (which would have you well covered for PA school).