Any personal trainers here?

Hey everyone,

Does anyone know of any schools that count personal training as HCE? While I'm not relying upon my experience as a personal trainer, I figured it would be a nice bonus if some schools counted it towards patient care hours. I'm sure it's one of those things thats good to have in addition to other work but if anyone could share their experiences that would be great.

Thanks!

• 3 weeks later...

I am an athletic trainer with over 12k hours of experience. I am also a "wellness coordinator" for the clinic I work for and I develop exercise routines for our employees. As the Head ATC for a minor league baseball team, I have developed strength and conditioning programs for each of our players. Every program I have applied to has accepted my athletic training hours as direct HCE, but THAT scope of practice is very different than my personal training/strength coach work. My programs seem to look at that as more "extra curricular" type work. One program that I have applied to has stressed preventative medicine and overall wellness of the patient population. We talked a bit about my experience in this arena during my interview. Good luck! :)

• 4 months later...

I'm right there with you with personal training as health care as experience as most of my hours are coming from this (4 years).

Some schools do accept it as a valid form of HCE; one close to me is the Towson/CCBC program in Maryland. Other schools however do not. For this reason I have also worked as a Chiropractic Assistant and am going to be working as a PT Aide this semester to diversify my HCE.

I will be applying this cycle so I can let you know how it goes!

Hey everyone,