Advice for ATLS

I am taking my ATLS course at the end of the week, have my book and should have my access opened to the pre-test any day now. Any thoughts from those of you that have taken the course. I have heard it can be difficult to pass and was curious if you fail the test do they give you another shot or have to re-pay and take again? As a new grad I have not performed many of the procedures in the skill section, so not sure of the margin of error.

you get teaching on all the procedures and a practice round of the practical before you take the real one. folks who fail either the written or practical can come back later for a retest.

most of the stuff on the written is from the early parts of each chapter. for example the trauma in pregnancy section might have a question on physiologic changes during pregnancy which is in the first paragraph of the chapter. the one on kids and trauma always has a question about how their airways are different than adults, etc.

I have taken it 4 times and recert again in a few months. great course. hopefully you are taking it somewhere PAs can fully participate instead of just audit so you get a card when done, not just cme.

Thanks EMEDPA. I am actually receiving my card, as I am 2nd in line for trauma after the docs (they told me to be prepared to work gunshots and stabbings). The ER I work expects PAs to work all levels including cardiac, and we have to do initial reads on all x-rays before discharge. Very nervous as a new grad, but this is what I wanted. I bought many of the books you and RCdavis recommended on the forum, any other advice would be great

Read. Everything. Once you start seeing cases, go home and just voraciously read about the pathophys, treatment, etc. Do it for 2 years. You'll get comfortable... but that comfort comes from both experience and knowledge. Just seeing patients isn't enough. Read as much as you can.

G