Can I still be a competitive applicant with an F?

Hi all,

I am currently an electrical engineer major(junior). When I was a freshman, my GPA was 4.0 at a university. I transferred my sophomore year and my gpa gradually dropped and now it is 2.92. I wanted to be in the medical field all my life, but I wasn't sure as what. PA was one of the career choices, but I didn't want to box myself into a corner with a bio degree just in case I wanted to do something else. So I decided to be a biomedical engineer, but I soon learned that its more advantageous to be an EE.

Around my spring semester of my sophomore year, I was positive I didn't want to do EE, but if I switched majors, I would have had to stay an extra year and I felt as though I wasted my time with the engineering courses. Staying an extra year would also be too expensive. As time went on it became harder and harder to study because I didn't really know why I was going to school or what I was trying to achieve beyond a bachelors. Classes don't interest me and I have no motivation. I became really depressed and my grades plummeted and I even failed one class. At this point it is too late to switch majors, I'm committed to graduating with a EE degree. However, I have decided that that being a PA is something I would enjoy and like to do. Since I know what I'm working towards now, I'm trying to work towards a strong ending and get the best grades possible for my EE degree.

I plan on becoming either a CNA or an EMT for experience. I have not taken a few of the prereqs, but I know I can get straight A's in any science class. I got A's in all my chem and physics classes. I love bio so I'm not worried about the grades for the prereqs. I'm more worried about the gpa I graduate with. I have a few C's and one F. Will I still be able to get into a PA school in this situation?

Any responses would help! Thanks!