Trouble deciding: Post-Bacc M.D. program or PA route?

Hello everyone, I'm a new member of the forum and wanted to run a question by any of you who would be willing to answer.

To make a long story short, I'm a recent graduate with a B.S. in Public Health and have been working towards obtaining a clinical career in the coming years. For the past 2 years I've been largely focused on medical school, but being a non-traditional student with a wife and obligations, I have been increasingly investigating the PA profession given it's shorter training stint with many personal and professional benefits. However, I'm currently waiting to hear back from this post-bacc program, which if I'm accepted, will guarantee me a seat in their M.D. program for fall 2015. My concern is that waiting until 2015 (I'm 26 so that will make me 28 at the start of med school) may be a mistake concerning how long it will take, the lack of income during training, debt, and the physician profession's general liability/commitment while growing a family. On the other hand, I've heard whispers and rumors of PA's who believe they would have been "better off" training to be an MD/DO from the get go, or that the profession lacks the desired respect, autonomy, income potential, etc. to make it more advantageous than a physicians job profile.

I'd would love to hear your thoughts on this. I've been mulling over these thoughts for weeks since being interviewed for this post-bacc program, and would sincerely appreciate some fresh perspective. The issue for me is the fact that I've already been through applications, interviews, etc. but haven't (until now) seriously considered the PA alternative.

Thank's for hearing me out!

I agree with EMEDPA. I am on the same boat as you.