My Situation: Apply Early or Apply later in the Cycle

Hey everyone!

I've just come across this forum and its been an awesome wealth of information. A quick intro about myself...I graduated in June 2011 from my undergraduate studies and didn't do very well. I received a 2.68 GPA but I stayed motivated to retake all the classes I did poorly in and did relatively well. I retook the classes where I received a bad grade and my GPA was a 3.9 for the 37 credits I retook. And if I correctly calculated my overall CASPA gpa, it is now a 3.23.

While I have an upward trend of good grades, I still don't have any accumulated paid healthcare hours (only 150 volunteer hours at the local ED).

My plan is to take a 1 month accelerated EMT class in late April and I can begin working (if all goes as planned) in June. I really don't know if I have a chance for this cycle, but I think I'm going to apply anyways. My question is should I apply early (April -June) or late in the application cycle so that I can show I've built maybe a few hundred hours of paid experience by that time. Also, are there any schools that are geared towards my situation of a slightly upward trend?

Thanks for all and any advice you have for me!

You don't have much of a chance this cycle. Normally applying early(and sending updates later if necessary) is the best way to go but in your case with no HCE and a low GPA it probably won't help you. You can try applying later in the cycle if you want to spend the money but you'll have a better chance next year with some HCE under your belt and an early broad application.