Burn Center Job?

Hey all,

So I'm currently an Emergency Department Tech outside of Phoenix (15 months), however, today I received a call about interviewing for a job at the Maricopa County Burn Unit, which is one of the best in the country. While I enjoy working in the ED (level 4), I think varying my experience would be a good thing come time to apply for school. Also, being a Navy Corpsman I know learning burn treatment and management would be extremely beneficial when I deploy. While its fairly specialized, I'm thinking it would give me a really good/unique experience both in life and in experience. For what its worth, I've done rotations in the burn unit so I know what to expect. I plan on working in EM after I graduate so I can't imagine this would be a bad thing?

Any opinions on whether I should stay in the ED or move onto something new like the burn unit?

Joel

I do enjoy it, but I also want something that's more trauma management/treatment. Being in a level 4 ED is like watching Groundhawg Day... flank pain, chest pain, lacs, more flank pains, etc. I would like to experience something new and different. And like I said, I think it would be invaluable training for when I deploy given how prevalent IEDs are. I also figure if I can get into the burn center, I can try and do some per-diem shifts in the county ED (level 1).

Burn Center may allow for networking into some OR time, at least to observe, maybe start to scrub. It may also network into visits to the ICU to check on patients. Level 4 ER is an average day in sick call for a Corpsman. I vote you step up your game. (speaking as a former Corpsman, scrub tech, and then paramedic, now a PA student)