DUINS residency outside of Navy

I was wondering if a Navy PA could even possibly apply for doing a civilian residency under DUINS, or could you only do the navy EM/Ortho residencies? I ask because I would like to increase my chances of getting into a residency, of course Navy EM is my number one, but I would like to apply for other EM residencies since there are only 2 spots.

I'm a HSCP student. Don't have one and won't bother with me until about 12-6 months from graduating and my recruiter doesn't know enough about it. I skimmed the BUMED notes, which makes it sound like you can in it's general section, but says nothing about it when it talks specifically about PA residencies (the navy EM/Ortho).

I was told by the detailer that we (as in HPSP and HCSP students) are not eligible to apply for a Navy residency until our initial time commitment is fulfilled. So at a minimum we will be waiting 3 years till we can apply for the residency.

Thanks, Schmittie. I've also been wondering about that.

Anyone have an idea how competitive the EM residency is? I did see that the ones who got it this year were both LT.

Have you contacted anyone on the NAPA (Naval Association of Physician Assistants) and asked them? I'm guessing that would be one of your better sources of information on the subject matter. Its in the link below, but you know if you do the EM residency through the Navy you are required to go with either the Marines or Navy special warfare.

http://www.napasite.net/Resources/Documents/Emergency_Medicine_Physician_Assistant_Slide_PresentationApproved%20(4).pdf

PM me your email and I can send it, or you can find it under MSC > physician assistant specialty board. On left hand side about mid-page you'll see a bunch of stuff about DUINS and one is a PPT that gives more info about the residency, the utilization tours, competitiveness (interested applicants out to FY14), what they are looking to do with it in the future, and requirements.