Negotiating an offer tomorrow morning. Am I ready?

Please read and reply...

I received an offer from a Salt Lake City urgent care chain last week, and tomorrow is the big day when I go in to discuss the offer and to do some serious negotiating. I studied the contract and the employee handbook in detail, making notes, writing out questions, and drafting my counter-offer. I did a lot of online research, and I contacted a lot of PAs to see what standard UC PA pay is like, and what things I should push for and expect. Keep in mind that I am not a "new grad." I have 8 months of very applicable experience in a setting with a huge amount of autonomy, where most of the patients I see every day are walk-ins.

The offer is... not great. The pay is weak, and some of the benefits are, too.

Here are my talking points (and I think I'll bring them up in this order):

• Work Status - they're hiring me on as PT/PRN with the intent that I will become FT when a FT opening is available. However, the contract does not mention that, and does not give any kind of timeline. I want that information to be there.
  • Outside Employment - Current clause says that the UC chain must take priority over any other outside work. While I'm PRN, that is just not going to work for me. My primary source of income has to be the priority.
  • Noncompete Clause - No practicing urgent care medicine within a 10-mile radius for at least 2 years after employment ends. They have several locations, so that would banish me from the entire Salt Lake area. Not good.
  • Malpractice Tail - required when I start, not covered by the new work (or the old). I'm going to ask that their malpractice include prior acts coverage. OR if they can subsidize occurrence coverage for me.
  • CME - $500 (for tuition only), with no CME days. I will ask for $1500 (including travel) and 5 CME days. If they won't do this, then request a pay increase.