Time from the last class to your first job etc?

Hello all,

I am curious: how much time passed between the last class at school and passing PANCE, PANCE and getting a license, then getting a job?

Did you find yourself looking for a job or being offered one while doing clinicals?

Please share what school you went to and location of you job if do no mind.

What fields are the most competitive? I like Emergency Medicine.

Are you finding that few/many people are using loal repayment through work?

I would like to know the timeframe so I can plan ahead.

Thank you in advance!

I graduated in august, moved across country, took pance in october (it was only given once/yr then), started work in november on an interim license, and got my passing scores in december.

I was offered jobs as a student but needed to move across country for my wife to attend grad school(it was her turn...:) )

I went to Hahnemann/drexel and moved to california.

em is tough to break into as a new grad if you do not have prior experience in the field.

loan repayment is really only an option in primary care clinics in underserved areas. very few folks do it.

licensing time is highly variable depending on the state and facility. some states take 1 week, others take 6 months.

• Administrator

Offer before graduation. NPI number before graduation. State license applied for and paid before graduation.

Graduation 11 August

PANCE 21 August

Scores 30 August

License 30 August

DEA 31 August

Start date 17 September

So, I did everything I could to streamline the process, and ended up with 36 days to get it all done, and getting it done in 20.

Graduated July 14

PANCE August 14

Scores August 23

Interviews from June until the end of October

Penn. license pending -- applied a month ago (Took my sweet time because I didn't know which state I'd end up in)

I'll sign on a dotted line next week