Inappropriate interview questions

I would like to get some opinions over here. I had an interview with a program today and the first question the interviewer asked me was how old I was, point-blank. The second question that was asked was how many children I have. Does anybody feel that I should be thinking twice about this?

Edited by sayNOtoNP

• Administrator

I've always thought that if you couldn't ask about it in an employment interview, you can't ask about it in a University interview. When I interview applicants for my PA program, there are a series of about 6-8 mandatory questions, and about a dozen more optional ones which can be used, time permitting. All of them are carefully worded, and while they're not all my favorite, every last one of them is "safe" and doesn't touch on any protected class, political/religious views, etc.

On the other hand, as a hiring manager, I did occasionally invite applicants to disclose more than strictly necessary. One applicant obviously was older than the experience listed on his resume, so I pointed that out and asked him if there was anything relevant to the position he wanted to disclose. He mentioned some cool but mostly irrelevant experience which rounded him out better as a candidate. That candor and well-roundedness impressed me, but he didn't end up getting that job when all the interviewers' scores were added up.

The world has changed and not all interviewers have kept up. As an undergrad competing for a scholarship, I was asked my religion. Even asked what each of my parents religions were! I didn't make a fuss and was honest. Still got the scholarship (which wasn't religious and the interviewer wasn't a coreligionist of mine) but I thought it was weird.