ANOTHER gpa question

Hi! I've looked on the CASPA site regarding GPA, but am not sure that I am reading it correctly for my situation.

I graduated with an associates in business and hospitality management (I know...don't get me started) 12 years ago. I started classes again last spring and have decided that if I don't get into the medical field, I'm going to regret it. I fell in love with the idea of PA. Anyway, my GPA from my original college experience was low. 2.9, I think. Pathetically low. Now that I've grown up, I'm not taking it for granted and am working at it, I have a 4.0 (so far).

The question is if the grades from my previous degree are entered into the equation or just those grades that are working towards being a PA? Thanks for any advice! I have a long road ahead and want to make sure that I don't screw myself early on.

Melissa

Melissa,

Any class you have ever taken at an educational institution will be calculated into your GPA via CASPA. With that being said, there are a lot of programs that will focus on your last 60 credit hours, and there is something to be said about maturity just so long as you give it the right spin in your personal narrative. You're definitely on the right track, and I don't think your previous low GPA will have a significant impact on you not getting an interview invitation pending you have quality HCE. A lot of pre-PA folks these days are very concerned with their GPA, but don't place a lot of emphasis on their HCE. Hope that helps!