Upcoming new grad advice

Hello everyone, I needed some advice on a potential job offer. I graduate in December, and before school, I have been a critical care nurse for six years in a pulmonary/cardiovascular ICU. I have trained to manage Impellas, IABPs, and CABGs while working. Since starting school, I have been set on working in CT surgery, but the Cardiologist in the hospital is offering me a job that will open up in the next week. He's spoken to me over the phone, and his duties will consist of seeing patients in the attached clinic, inpatient rounding, and performing tests. He said I will have full access to him anytime for questions and understands this position has a significant learning curve. I do not know the pay and benefits, but the call would be 1:8. He sounds very supportive and would love to work with me since I have known him for years. I have a CT surgery rotation in 2 months with the CT surgeon working at this hospital, and I hope they will have a position open when I am finished. Still, now I am wondering if I should take the Cardiology position and switch to CT surgery in the future.

A few thoughts:

Firstly, congrats. There's no harm in continuing discussions with the cardiologist. But don't commit yourself or accept anything until you have reviewed the job details, have everything in writing, and have given yourself time to figure out what it is you want to do. You should also go check out the clinic and talk to whoever else may be involved like an office manager or whoever will be your direct boss. Unless you're dying to go into cardiology, the job offer and mentorship are amazing, you want/need something lined up immediately, etc, it'd behoove you to see thru the rest of your rotations before accepting a job at this time. However, they likely won't wait around forever so you may be risking a job opportunity by waiting it out. Further, are they willing to wait for you until after you've graduated and are licensed?