Currently a paramedic/firefighter questioning if I’m smart enough to succeed through PA school.

Currently, I am a firefighter and paramedic at our department. I have a decent job that I can retire from and live out for the rest of my working years. I graduated with a cumulative 3.1 GPA with a premed degree, since then I’ve done another 60 hrs of college credits with a 3.8.  I feel like I can do more than I am with my life right now, and want to apply to PA school. I did an accelerated paramedic program, completing it all in 10-11 months and did very well. I’m more concerned about quitting my job for the opportunity of going back to PA school and then failing out of PA school and not having a job to return to. Generally speaking, I guess I’m wondering if I am intelligent enough to pass PA school? I have pretty good study habits, I read the book, make highlights, then go back and type up notes from the highlights and study those. It has worked very well for me the last several years just looking for whatever inside, anyone may have to offer. 

You are smart enough. It all depends what you want from life. We have several folks on these boards who still work a bit as medics in addition to their PA practice. Lots of factors here: how old are you? How many years until pension? what do your finances look like, etc

If you want this, you can do it. 

• Thanks 1
  • Upvote 2

I’m 28, can retire at 55.  Pension will easily provide for me in life later, and I have programs to help financially where I wouldn’t really be out of pocket.   It would just be a financial increase for sure going the PA route.  It would also allow me to do more for people I feel.  I just read countless posts and articles about how dauntless the didactic year is etc.  that it’s very disconcerting. 

Edited by Glooka17