New Grad CV/Resume

I’ve heard mixed things about what to include/not include in a resume or CV for your first job as a new grad. I’d love to hear what you guys think about including jobs before PA school, skills/diagnosis attained during rotations, letters of recommendations, etc. I know it should be about a page long so what do hiring managers really want to see (particular for small & private practices)?

Thanks!

• Administrator

When I worked in tech, I interviewed a guy who clearly left jobs off his Resume, and was interviewing as a new grad in his 40's with a pretty sparse resume. I pointed that out, and asked him if there was anything else he wanted to share about his past that would help explain his capabilities.  Turns out he'd run a bar before going back to college. Talk about demonstrating people skills, leadership, and how to deal with unreasonable people! To think, someone told him to leave that off...

I don't think he ended up getting the job, but I rated him significantly higher on my evaluation because of it.

As far as skills? Only if it's weird. If you tell me you learned to suture, I'm rolling my eyes: Of course you did.  If you got to do joint injections, nail surgery, point of care ultrasound, or got to do something else cool, I definitely want to hear about that.

It's not clear how old you are. If you are a traditional PA student with a bit of healthcare experience and most of your background come from your clinical year, then a brief hit at your pre-PA program experience is in order, along with brief descriptions of each rotation. I think that should include where you were, what you did, and who your preceptor was. I got my first (and , after 16+ years, still my only) PA position because the hiring doc recognized the preceptor I had for a two week optional rotation! An, around us, if you did rotations at the Cleveland Clinic or in a heart transplant center, that is also viewed extra favorably.