How I prepared and what I would have done differently

I just want to thank everyone here who shared their resources and experiences. I recently took the PANCE and am so relieved to say that I passed! I wanted to come back here and share with everyone how I studied and what I would have done the same or differently. I honestly felt like I failed the PANCE after I took it and am so glad that I passed. The PANCE was different than any of the questions I studied but maybe all the reading and practice tests/questions prepared me in the end. I can’t guarantee that how I studied will mean that you will pass too but it worked for me.

Here is how I prepared:

· I graduated at the beginning of August and took about 2 weeks off to relax at home with friends and family. Then buckled down and studied for about 2 ½ weeks, around 8 hours a day.

· I read the AAPA comprehensive book and did all of the questions (I did this throughout the year but did it again after graduation). Reviewed topics that I thought were kind of weak with my own notes from school and with online research.

· Studied as many packrats as I could.

· Signed up with PanceMaster and completed all of the questions.

· Completed several exams in the Lange Q&A (cardio, pulm, ortho, rheum).

· I took both of the NCCPA practice exams

Here is what I wish I had done:

· Take the exam 1 week after graduation. I wish I hadn’t taken so long to take the test, I think it created more stress. I also regret that I didn't start studying for the PANCE sooner. I was studying all year for rotations, but I waited until after graduation to really focus on practice PANCE questions.

· Take the exam on a Monday! I took mine on a Thursday and it was torture waiting 7 days for the results!

· Sign up with PanceMaster 1-2 months before taking the test. (I really crammed to do as many questions as I did in only 2 ½ weeks and I really wish I had spaced it out better).