Pa school admission-low gpa

Hello,

I need feedback from students that are currently PA students or PA-C on duty at this time. I am a 24 year old with a BA in Biology and minor in Spanish. I graduated this past year (may 2011). Ever since I was young I had an interest in the medical field and knew I would be chosing that route. I became aware of the PA profession at an early age by personal experience. I knew right away that this was what i wanted to become. After college I shadowed a PA at the ED and started applying to several PA schools in state (NJ) and out of state (NY). I graduated with a 2.9 cummulative GPA. During my first years of college, I did not achieve the grades i should have, due to my full time job that required a lot of my time leaving no time to focus on school work. I was unable to leave my job at that time due to financial responsibilities and personal problems at home (health issues). To make my story short, my grades werent that great, and on top of all that I was rushing to finish school (15-18 credits per semester). Full time job + Full time Student meant no time to focus on school work and caused me to do poorly on my classes. My grades were all C's C+'s and some B's for the first year or two. I failed a course my first semester (F) and was able to retake it but also got a C+ (CHEM 1). This situation left me emotional unbalance, I felt very unsure about my capabilities to go further onto a medical career. My last year of college I was able to leave work and focus 100% in school and I did so much better while taking 300-400 level courses (A's and B+'s). I felt so relieved after this, because it reassured me that I was able to go further if I wanted to. So I decided to apply for PA school, but the problem now is that my GPA calculated at the PA school is a 2.798 cGPA and 2.67 sGPA. I know this does not make me competitive and I was told by the admission committee that I needed to increase it if I wanted a chance for my application to even be