Do I have a chance?

I’m struggling to decide if I should apply for this cycle or not due to my gpa and PCE. I graduated last august with a bachelors in biology. I’m 23 btw. 

Cumulative Gpa before post bacc credits-2.98
Sci GPA-2.65

Cumulative gpa after post bacc-3.17 (32 credits)
Sci gpa after-3.10

Post bacc cgpa- 3.98 sgpa- 4.00

PCE hours as a CNA~1500
Medical assistant~ 400

HCE as a Pathology Tech~ 1360

LOR- one from MD that I worked with, one from a PA I shadowed, and one from a former boss

Shadowing~150 hours 
Leadership Hours~80 hours 
Volunteer~150 hours

Taking the GRE this month 

My GPA was low in my undergrad bc of going through personal circumstances and recently learning that I have ADHD. After finding out my diagnosis I completely changed how I studied and I had an upward trend my senior year and during this post bacc.

While nobody can tell you what your chances are, you might find greater success applying to schools that evaluate your gpa based on the last 40-60 credit hours. 

With that being said I applied and was accepted to PA school with a 3.04 cgpa and a 3.44 sgpa. However, I had >10k hours of paramedic experience and my last 60 credit hours gpa was a 4.0 which included nearly all prereqs including orgo, genetics, etc.

Find out what the cutoff for schools are that you are interested in applying to regarding GPA and PCE/HCE. The closer you are to their matriculant profiles, the better your chances will be.

It's an uphill battle, but you can do it. 

• Upvote 1

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• Similar Content

• By savpeaches