PA PCE OR HCE

Hello everyone, i had a question regarding pce and hce, i currently work as a cna/rehab aide and was presented the opportunity to work in family case management that would deal with helping place pregnant women in homes, scheduling wellness check ups, and organizing baby showers for them. Would this qualify as pce or hce?? Please help me out!

It doesn't sound like hands on patient care so I wouldn't call it PCE. If anything I'd call it HCE if its going to count for anything. Unless you have a few thousand hours of PCE already then i'd stay a CNA...i understand doing what makes you happy is part of it, but if it was to get into school then i'd stay a cna

But that's me! Good luck 😊😊

Edited by Kirby219

I don't think it sounds like PCE because you aren't performing direct, hands-on care for patients. It might be considered HCE. If it helps, you can always email the programs you are interested with a job description and ask. But generally PCE involves being responsible for patients and performing some kind of hands-on care (transferring patients, taking vital signs, administering medications, etc). CNA is almost universally considered PCE, so if your goal is to gain PCE hours, then it's best to stay as a CNA.

Edited by Laybunny

The CASPA definitions for PCE and HCE may be helpful here. 

CASPA defines PCE as "experiences in which you are directly responsible for a patient's care. For example, prescribing medication, performing procedures, directing a course of treatment, designing a treatment regimen, actively working on patients as a nurse, paramedic, EMT, CNA, phlebotomist, physical therapist, dental hygienist, etc."  The case management position you describe doesn't sound like it fits this definition.