Non-traditional, mom, 31 yo, with no HCE/PCE. Help!

Hi all,

I'm 31 years old, mom of 2 young kids and have a major in marketing. I had no idea about the profession when I went to college (I'm also in immigrant who came here when I was 18). I have decided I want to be a PA and have been spending hours and hours reading this forum, watching youtube videos, reading everything I can about the whole process. 

I'm a stay at home mom now, and was trying to get a job as a medical receptionist just to get my feet wet, since I have no certifications, but it's possible daycare costs would be higher than my salary. Looking into taking my pre-requisite courses in the Spring semester. But how do I get my hours without spending years and thousands of $$? 

Phlebotomy? EMT? I think CNA may not be for me. I ultimately want to work with children. Any input? Suggestions? Is this all crazy?

Thank you if you've read this far!

Hey! So I’m by no means an expert but I’ll give you my best advice. I applied to PA school with a Bachelors degree in Business. So I took a few semesters and completed all the prereqs. I took them at my local state college (with the exception of Genetics). As far as gaining experience most EMT programs have night classes and such that could accommodate your schedule as a mother, especially if you have a husband who is willing to play daddy day care a couple nights a week. EMT can be done in about 4 months and if it’s done at your local community college or an accredited program it will count toward your science GPA. You’ll likely need at least a year of experience as an EMT which is about 2,000 PCE hours to be competitive. Not sure what your GPA is, but the higher the better (keep in mind CASPA takes all grades and classes you’ve ever taken into calculation Including classes that were retaken for a better grade).