Fit for the PA profession?

Hello everyone. I just need some input on my dilemma. I'm currently a college sophomore, and up until this semester I was set on becoming a PA. But now, I realize that I don't know if I can handle the profession. This may sound silly, but I'm awfully scared of blood and all that gory stuff... but hopefully, I'll be able to endure that as I grow older. Another issue is that I don't know if I have the "problem-solving" skills needed with becoming a PA. For one, I'm pretty good at memorizing concepts for my academic courses, but I struggle with applying those concepts and making decisions based on them. Is this sometime that I will eventually acquire over time as I get more exposure to the PA field? But, I am very hardworking and will work to be better at this skill. I just get this vibe that people cannot be shaped to be good PAs...

I don't want to go into a field that I won't be successful at... and might look into pharmacy instead... but I just wanted some professional advice. Thank you!

• Administrator

Whom have you shadowed? What sorts of health care experience have you engaged in already?

My decision (as an EMT-Basic) to pursue PA vs. Paramedic was made in the operating suite, when I was on a medical missions trip, when I realized I *could* handle surgery... and found it fascinatingly cool to boot. So, don't give up if you haven't really been exposed to the environment about which you're currently apprehensive.

But do be sure to get good, real-world experience on top of your academics while you're at it.

I'm sorry but Pharmacy won't be any easier than PA, it is a hard profession as well. I think you could really benefit from getting a job... You will find that pretty much no matter where you go and what you do... you will have responsibilities, you will need to be able to think critically and solve problems, and you need to gain confidence to be able to work with people and to do your job.