Dog in PA School

Hi there everyone! I am thinking about getting a dog at some point this summer from a rescue.  I have had dogs my entire life and recently lost my last one, and really miss having one around.  My only reservation to getting one is PA school- people say its impossible to have a dog during and act like you have absolutely no time for anything but studying constantly. Is this true? Can anyone who has had a dog or contemplated having a dog in PA school and decided against it give me any advice? I have already thought about the whole apartment-living-vs.-exercise debate and think I could make it work.  Opinions? Also, if it helps at all, I am not looking to get a super high-energy breed like an aussie/border collie/GSP/etc, and won't be starting PA school until 2021 at the earliest.

It is entirely possible to have a dog while you're in PA school. I've had my beagle since I was a sophomore in college. I was worried he wouldn't get the time and attention he deserved while I was in PA school, but it was never a major issue. I lived in a dog-friendly apartment with no roommates. We'd go for short walks together in the morning, again when I got home from class/rotations, and again before bedtime. He stayed in his crate when I was not home. At first, I felt bad about leaving him in a crate all day, but he actually really likes it. It's not cruel as long as you don't use the crate as punishment and you don't leave them locked up for excessive periods of time. He has treats, toys, and an orthopedic doggy bed in his crate that is more comfortable than my own mattress. 

If you're going to run into an issue having a dog in PA school, it's more likely going to be the financial burden than the dog itself. Be prepared to spend money on food, supplies, veterinary bills, etc. Pet insurance was one of the best investments I ever made; I just wish I'd bought it sooner.