My PA education

I graduated in 1986 from CUNY (City University of NY).  The experience was wonderful and absolutely prepared me for my 32 year career in Family Medicine.  The didactic classes were taught by physicians  from Columbia University Medical School and were great teachers and very supportive of our profession.  I did all of my 2nd rotations at Harlem hospital and lived there in the nurses dorm for 1 year.  The only rotation I did off site was family medicine at an office on Long Island.  I wanted to be exposed to as much clinical medicine and surgery as I could.  I saw every disease from A to Z and actively participated in all patient care.  My decision to do all rotations at Harlem hospital prepared me for my career in Family medicine in medically under served areas where physicians did not want to practice for reasons  IMO, included personal safety and the all mighty $$.  Me,  I loved it.  I was treated with respect and I was able to utilize what I had learned.  Thank you Harlem Hospital PA program.