Compensation as a new grad

Hey everyone, it's my first time  actually posting on this site, but I've found its many resources to be invaluable.  I'm a second year PA student in Pennsylvania, and will be graduating in a few months.  My interest is in the acute side of medicine: EM, urgent care, etc. I've seriously begun the interviewing process in the last few weeks, but am waiting to hear back on most of my applications.  I realize similar questions have been asked before...

My questions are:

-How many jobs did you guys apply to as new grads (assuming you weren't offered a job on rotation)?

-Assuming benefits like health insurance, malpractice are covered, what would be the minimum you would accept as a new grad in EM or urgent care?  I live in Pennsylvania, and my first offer was a total lowball, but I'm trying to get an idea of where others started in the same field.

Thanks folks

46 minutes ago, Salesian said:

My questions are:

-How many jobs did you guys apply to as new grads (assuming you weren't offered a job on rotation)?

-Assuming benefits like health insurance, malpractice are covered, what would be the minimum you would accept as a new grad in EM or urgent care?  I live in Pennsylvania, and my first offer was a total lowball, but I'm trying to get an idea of where others started in the same field.

Thanks folks

Hi,

I graduate in a couple of months, too.

1. I applied to about 25 jobs. A mix of primary care, hospitalist, and EM. I applied to positions in the southeast and on the west coast. Results: 5 interviews, 2 offers, 1 pending decision.

2. Based on feedback from peers and info in the AAPA salary report, I had different minimums that I was willing to accept depending on location. EM in Southeast: my minimum was $45-55/hr. EM on west coast $60-70/hr. My southeast offer fell within my range. My west coast offer was above my minimum.