Let’s talk URI and importance of hx

Since I make my living with snot/cough daily I would like some input on whether others take this particular presentation into consideration?

It is my opinion that benign URI pts have a rollercoaster characteristic to their historical presentation over a 24 hour period. This is attributed to the variable nature of the degree of PND and its inherent acidic property. Conversely, people with primary tonsillitis/pharyngitis/pneumonia will have a less variable sx presentation and will in fact be somewhat constant, regardless of time of day.

This being said, I’m starting to employ this variable when using Centor to assist with odynophagia, especially during colder months.

Discuss.

2 hours ago, GetMeOuttaThisMess said:

Since I make my living with snot/cough daily I would like some input on whether others take this particular presentation into consideration?

It is my opinion that benign URI pt’s have a rollercoaster characteristic to their historical presentation over a 24 hour period. This is attributed to the variable nature of the degree of PND and its inherent acidic property. Conversely, people with primary tonsillitis/pharyngitis/pneumonia will have a less variable sx presentation and will in fact be somewhat constant, regardless of time of day.

This being said, I’m starting to employ this variable when using Centor to assist with odynophagia, especially during colder months.

Discuss.

Nice observation.  I think the centor could be more quantified for many variables, but for yours in particular, I have found most patients exaggerate their symptoms in the hopes of getting antibiotics that most, if not all of the history should be taken with a grain of salt.  Additionally, most people clump their symptoms as "all or none", and getting most to focus on the past 24 hours would difficult, even for skilled interrogators.