Pre-PA asking for advice...

Hello all,

I'm a 29-yr-old married mom with a 3 year old son who has Cystic Fibrosis and Short Bowel Syndrome. As you can imagine, these conditions (which ultimately led to my son spending the first half of his life in the hospital with operations and hospitalizations, multi-organ transplant eval and subsequent intestinal rehabilitation) have thrust me in the middle of the medical environment and I've realized I have quite an aptitude for it.

I graduated with a bachelors in marketing management and worked in the field of graphic design for a few years before having my son. I've always had a huge interest in the medical field, but due to crappy parents I believed I wasn't capable of making it in med school of any kind. I was miserable for years trying to do everything to make other people happy, got the business degree my stepfather wanted me to, and all the while denied my dreams because I didn't think it was possible. As I've grown and matured, gaining life experience it's abundantly clear to me now that I can do this and I could be really good at it. My son's docs, nurse friends, and even people I barely know have encouraged me to go for it, saying I seem to have a gift for understanding the medical field and think that being a PA would give me the autonomy and level of expertise that I could do well with.

I'm getting certified as a CNA first, doing some shadowing and volunteering while starting on science pre-reqs for PA school. I plan on working 1-2 years as a CNA, finish up pre-reqs, then hopefully apply for Fall 2014 at 3 schools (University of Oklahoma, University of Colorado with my top choice being University of Nebraska which is our main hospital -all of my son's doctors are there).