Pre-PA concerns. PA vs MD.

I'm currently a pre-PA student and I'm planning on applying this upcoming cycle. These past two years I've been struggling to come to terms with my decision to go PA and relinquish my dreams to go to med school. I recently graduated from UCSD with a BS in neuroscience and physiology. I have the lab experience, clinical experience, and GPA to go to med school. However, as wonderful as becoming a MD would be, PA is more lucrative temporally and financially. When considering the amount of time/money you save with PA, it seems worth it to give up the prestige, power and knowledge you obtain as a MD (especially if you grew up as a poor 1st gen college student). I've been feeling depressed lately as the physician I work for keeps pushing me towards med school and tells me that I am wasting my potential by going to PA school (please don't hate me, his words not mine). I was hoping that I might be able to answer some questions and find some reassurance about my decision through this forum. I'm probably going to get a lot of hate from people with these questions, but please understand that I want to have my mind changed regarding these topics, so kind education is appreciated over backlash.